CL Readers Pick Decatur As Best Atlanta “Suburb”

24 09 2008

Creative Loafing’s “Best of Atlanta 2008” is now online, and it looks like Decatur again rated the city’s “best suburb” among its alt-hipster, pinko-liberal, free-newspaper-loving, much-hyphenated readership!  Leave it to those facist CL “critics” to rate Chamblee as their pick for best Atlanta ‘burb.

Also, congrats to Pecanne Log (critics #1) and Blissful Glutton (readers #1) for ranking as the top local Atlanta blogs!

(For Thomas Wheatley’s eyes only:  I THOUGHT WE HAD A DEAL!?!  I provide you with lots of uncomfortably erotic plastic surgery ads for CL and you give DM a little love!  Well I’ll tell ya…that’s the last time I’m entering into a contractual agreement on a napkin with you!  Where’s that # for Sunday Paper?)

(For CL editor Ken Edelstein’s eyes only:  The above note to Thomas was made in jest.  Please don’t repremand him on my account.  There are so many other valid reasons.)

UPDATE: Whit’s End and Wordsmiths also note that they made the list.  Sure…rub it in.


Actions

Information

9 responses

24 09 2008
Thomas Wheatley

Decaturite,

I’m glad no one else but us can see these comments. I’m sorry! I know that only goes so far, but I tried to switch out the entries at the last minute. The press operator wouldn’t turn his back. I was there all night. Keep those plastic-surgery ads coming! You do great work, man!

Sincerely,
Your man on the inside

24 09 2008
Decatur Metro

Indeed I will. If just one young lad picks up a CL on the sidewalk and sees something he really shouldn’t, prompting lots of awkward questions for his parents, I’ll have done my job.

24 09 2008
catherine

Yeah, where is the Decatur blog love, Creative Loafing? I was hoping Decatur Metro, In Decatur or Next Stop would get a mention.

The Cookie Studio won Best Cookie. Congrats to Barbara and Sue!

24 09 2008
E

Congrats also to Twain’s, Brickstore, and Watershed for a few wins.

24 09 2008
Decatur Metro

Not to mention AsianCajuns!

24 09 2008
christa t

Sorry for your loss, but we have the forged passports and everything to prove we are 100% Atlanta.

24 09 2008
Kenneth

Whit’s End and Decatur CD are in there too! Best Hip Mens Clothing Store, and Best Used CD Store.

25 09 2008
Ashleigh

Also, the Book Festival won an award, Cafe Alsace won for best French food and Wahoo! won for best patio dining.

Congrats, all!!!

10 10 2008
Marcie

and a few other Decatur nods…

my favorite music venue, Eddie’s Attic, won the critics and readers awards for Best Acoustic Music Club (for the 16th or 17th year in a row), and Decatur’s own Caroline Herring won the critics award for Best Local Singer/Songwriter!

Leave a comment