Mutts’ Creator Patrick McDonnell Coming to DBF

31 07 2008

I’m surprised the Decatur Book Festival hasn’t done more to promote Patrick McDonnell’s appearance.  I know a lot of people, including myself, that love his daily comic strip Mutts.  (Though I’m sure everyone says that about their favorite authors in attendance)

Perhaps its because its a kid-focused event?  According to the DBF’s official calendar its looks like he’s scheduled to discuss his new book “South” on the Target children’s stage at noon Sunday.

I wonder if I can borrow someone’s kids for 30 minutes so I can attend. 🙂

This isn’t from a press release…just a random discovery of mine…


Actions

Information

3 responses

31 07 2008
WPMOM

His name leaped out at me too. His books are amazing and smart and sweet and loved by anybody who shares space with a pooch or a cat (especially rescues as he does a special weekly strip each year to promote animal adoptions). Not to mention his amazing artwork. I will be taking my little one to see him, so sorry, you can’t borrow her!

31 07 2008
runswithdogs

I wonder if dogs are invited? 😉

31 07 2008
decaturite

No worries WPMOM. I think my wife and I worked through our embarrassment of liking “kids things” standing in line at midnight to buy our Harry Potter books! 😉 So I assume we’ll be ok!

Leave a comment